Policy Profile Luxembourg


Luxembourg is a member state of the European Union and is therefore required to implement all EU directives, laws, regulations and policies, including those related to heritage and culture.

Luxembourd and the EU

The European Commission has a Representation Office and the European Parliament a Liaison Office, both in Luxembourg City. The Luxembourg Government has a Permanent Representation to the European Union in Brussels.

National Cultural Policy in Luxembourg

At a national level, the framework for cultural policy in Luxembourg is mainly regulated by the ministère de la Culture (ministry of Culture), which is in charge of developing and implementing the government national and international cultural policy, as well as funding cultural projects. The Ministry is divided into 3 departments: the Administration and General Affairs Department, the Artistic Creation and Promotion Department, and the Cultural Heritage Department, each divided into different services. For instance, the Heritage management and awareness, the Protected area management, and the Cultural Heritage Digital Strategy Services are part of the Cultural Heritage Department.

The Government recognises 8 state cultural institutes, and cooperates with various cultural organisations attached to the central state administration, such as the Fonds Culturel National (National Cultural Fund) or the Centre culturel de rencontre Abbaye de Neumünste (Heritage Site for Culture Neumünster Abbey), which are given specific missions by the ministry. Moreover, the ministère de l’Éducation nationale, de l’Enfance et de la Jeunesse (ministry of Education, Children and Youth) and the ministère des Finances (ministry of Finance) also intervene in cultural policies.

On the legislative side, the Commission de la Culture (Commission of Culture) of the Chambre des députés (Parliament) is responsible for voting national bills and ratifying international treaties in the cultural field. It can also exert control over financial, political and administrative matters.

Regional Policies in Luxembourg

There are no regional authorities in the 12 cantons of the country. However, in 2008, regional professional cultural centres decided to come together, creating the Réseau Luxembourgeois des Centres Culturels Régionaux (Luxembourg Network of Regional Cultural Centres) to “ensure a basic supply of the population with cultural offers in decentralised areas.”

On the other hand, municipalities are the only competent bodies in managing local cultural policies, with administrative services and structures more or less important depending on the size of the municipality.

View all Luxembourg policies gathered so far

Go to other country policy profiles

* = This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244/1999 and the ICJ opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. View more